#3 Cassie Logan

Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry...I was SO OBSESSED with this series when I was in middle school...great writing, amazing author :) So many happy memories with this bookIn Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry by Margaret D. Taylor we are introduced to a spunky, yet bright girl Cassie Logan. The series continues on, as we watch Cassie grow into a young woman. Despite her loving personality, Cassie is looked down upon by many. This book series takes place during the Great Depression in Mississippi, and Cassie is African American. Many of the white people in the book already judge her based on her race. They don’t see beyond her face, yet she ignores this and perseveres. She wakes up everyday and goes to school in order to get an education. Later, on in the books, we see Cassie be exposed to the injustice that has been done to her friends and family. Even if it means losing site of achieving her dreams, Cassie stands by those who are being treated unfairly. Loyal, trustworthy, and true Cassie Logan stands strong even in the times where she is judged for what she looks like, not who she is.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s