Theater Thursday: Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella

Rodgers & Hammerstein's Cinderella on Broadway: Piano/Vocal Selections

Cinderella had become a famous fairy tale through Walt Disney films. However, it was Rodgers and Hammerstein who brought Cinderella to the stage in their interpretation. In this musical delight we are introduced to a more independent minded young servant who is tied to her wicked stepmother. In this adaption she is able to win the prince over by encouraging him through her own smarts. Rodgers and Hammerstein’s version of Cinderella is filled with songs like “My Own Little Corner” and “There is Music in You” to get you into a feel good mood. Cinderella is a true musical classic to encourage you to believe you can do anything.

4 thoughts on “Theater Thursday: Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella

  1. Belinda O says:

    I watched the Lesley Ann Warren version every year when it was re-broadcast on TV. It was an event. There are glorious songs here — I also love “Impossible” and “Do I Love You Because You’re Beautiful.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • jabrush1213 says:

      That is the one version of Cinderella I have not seen. My mom talks about Lesley Ann Warren as Cinderella all the time, having trouble locating the movie online. But, I hear from many people about how wonderful that version is.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Belinda O says:

        It’s likely the one a lot of people remember because they aired it every year for close to a decade, which I don’t believe they did with the Julie Andrews version. I’ve never seen that one, but now I believe I’ll have to check with my local library and see if they have it!

        Liked by 2 people

      • jabrush1213 says:

        Yup, the first time I see a version of the Cinderella with Lesley Ann Warren whether it be online or at the library, I am definitely checking it out. I have seen parts of the Julie Andrews version. I have seen the full 1997 movie with Brandy and Whitney Houston.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

